

Ministry of Culture, the Media, Youth and Sport

## PRESS RELEASE

No: 206/2019

Date: 24th March 2019

## **Gibraltar Drama Festival 2019 Results**

At the Gala Night of the Gibraltar Drama Festival held at the Ince's Hall Theatre on Saturday 23rd March 2019, the Adjudicator, Cherry Stephenson GODA, reached the following decision on the Awards:

ADJUDICATORS' AWARD was awarded to GAMPA Juniors for their play 'Small Fry'.

BEST SET PRESENTATION was awarded to GAMPA Seniors for their play 'The Train'.

BEST TECHNICAL PRESENTATION was awarded to Bayside & Westside Drama Group for their play 'PopStar'.

BEST YOUTH SUPPORTING ACTOR was awarded to Simon James for his role as Harry in 'Innocence' a play presented by Medway Little Theatre Youth Company.

BEST YOUTH SUPPORTING ACTRESS was awarded to Natasha Richardson for her role as Kelly in 'PopStar' a play presented by Bayside & Westside Drama Group.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR was awarded to Mark Dallison for his role as George in 'The Droitwich Discovery' a play presented by Trafalgar Theatre.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS was awarded to Karen Lawson for her role as Barbara Cartland in 'Bothered and Bewildered' a play presented by Rock Theatre.

BEST YOUTH ACTRESS was awarded to Mei Liu for her role as Charlie in 'Befriending Bertha' a play presented by The Magazine Studio.



BEST YOUTH ACTOR was awarded to Matthew Navas for his role as Theo in 'The Train' a play presented by GAMPA Seniors.

BEST ACTRESS was awarded to Monica Ritchie for her role as Irene in 'Bothered and Bewildered' a play presented by Rock Theatre.

BEST ACTOR was awarded to Harry Kumar for his role as Dave in 'The Sociable Plover' a play presented by Trafalgar Theatre.

BEST DIRECTOR was awarded to Angela Jenkins for her play 'Bothered and Bewildered' presented by Rock Theatre.

BEST ORIGINAL SCRIPT was awarded to Julian Felice for his play 'PopStar' presented by Bayside & Westside Drama Group.

FESTIVAL WINNER for the BEST PLAY was awarded to Rock Theatre for their play 'Bothered and Bewildered'.

The presentation of awards was carried out by the Minister for Education, The Hon Dr John Cortes MP.